How To Become A Real Estate Agent (With State Requirements)

how to become a real estate agent

Many people are looking to learn how to become a real estate agent. I have found from my in-depth research over the past 12 months that most of the people looking to get a real estate license want a simple easy to understand guide to show them the way.

That’s what you will find here. This is by far the easiest guide on becoming a real estate agent that you will find. There is no hard to understand language or confusing content. Just step by step instructions to getting a license in your state as a real estate agent.

How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Each State

Every state has specific prerequisites that you must meet before you can even consider becoming a real estate agent.

Most states will require that you be at least 18 years old and that you have a high school diploma or GED.

To make this is as easy as possible and so you will not have to search all over the internet trying to find this information, below you will find a state by state guide of real estate license requirements.

Just find your state below and read the step by step guide. (since this information can change, be sure to check with your state’s real estate commission to make sure these requirements are still accurate)


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Alabama

To get your real estate license in Alabama, you must be at least 19 years old. You must be a high school graduate or its equivalent, like a GED. You can have no convictions and can never have been convicted of a felony or any major crime.

Real estate agents in Alabama must complete 60 hours of an approved pre licensing course. (See the best real estate schools in The United States and the best online Alabama real estate schools.) After passing the state and national real estate exam, you must then complete 30 additional education hours. You will have to complete this entire process within 12 months.

Alabama Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Alaska

A real estate license in Alaska requires 40 educational hours at an approved institution. In order to complete these hours, you must not have any felonies or convictions of monetary crimes. You must also be at least 19 years of age. See the best online Alaska real estate schools to get educated.

You will have to pass the real estate exam, and after this, you have 6 months to apply for your license. When applying for your license, you will have to pass a background check and be fingerprinted.

Alaska Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Arizona

In the state of Arizona, you must be 18 years of age to begin working toward your real estate license. You must complete 90 hours of education plus 6 additional hours of contract writing courses. (see the best Arizona online real estate schools) This will help prepare you for the complicated contract work you will do as an agent.

After taking your classes, you will then have to take the Arizona real estate licensing exam. Once you pass, you will need to submit your fingerprints for a background check and submit your Salesperson Application. Once you complete all these requirements, you will be licensed to sell real estate in Arizona.

Arizona Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Arkansas

Prospective real estate agents in Arkansas must complete a 60 hour pre licensing course. (See the top real estate schools in Arkansas.) After completing your 60 hours of education, you will then submit your application and background check. This determines whether or not you will be eligible to take the state and national real estate exam.

You will get a letter from the Arkansas Real Estate Commission letting you know if you are eligible. If so, you can then take the exam. Once you have passed the exam, you can then get hired on at a broker, who will activate your real estate license.

Arkansas Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In California

In California, you must be 18 years old and a resident of the state to get your real estate license. California requires 135 hours of pre licensing education to be eligible for the salesperson licensing exam. Once you pass that, you can get hired on at a broker. (See the best online real estate schools in California)

You must find a sponsoring broker in the state of California when you are just starting out. Once you find a broker to work at, you can then complete your application. The application process includes fingerprinting and a background check.

California Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Colorado

Colorado requires 168 hours of education for all of their new real estate agents.  See all of the best online real estate schools in Colorado. You must complete these hours as well as pass the final exam of your course. Once you have done this, you will be ready to take the Colorado Real Estate Broker License exam.

After you have passed this state and national exam, you must complete a background check. While this is being processed, you will have to obtain what is called Errors and Omissions insurance. If your background check comes back clean, you can then complete your license application.

Colorado Real Estate Commission


Become A Real Estate Agent In Connecticut

In Connecticut, you must finish a 60 hours Real Estate Principles and Practices course. This course will cover everything you need to know to practice real estate in this state. Once you have done this, you can move on to the next step.

This next step is the state exam. Applying for and passing the state exam can only happen once you have completed your education hours. Once you have passed this exam, you can then get sponsored by a licensed Real Estate Broker.

Connecticut Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Delaware

Candidates for a Delaware real estate license must complete 99 hours of real estate education. Once you have completed these hours, you can then take the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Examination. Your education hours will help you pass this comprehensive exam.

Once you have passed the exam, you can then work for a sponsoring broker. This broker will help you with the rest of your licensing. Once you have been hired on at a sponsoring broker, you can complete your licensure application.

Delaware Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Florida

In order to become a real estate agent in Florida, you will have to complete 63 hours of licensing education at a Florida real estate school. This must be done at an approved institution in the state. Once you have done this, you can then move on to the real estate exam.

Before you are eligible to complete the exam, though, you must submit your fingerprints for a background check. If everything comes out clean, you can sit for the Florida Real Estate Salesperson Exam. After passing this, you can begin working as a real estate salesperson.

Florida Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Georgia

Georgia has a requirement of 75 hours for real estate agents looking to get their license. (See the best online real estate schools in Georgia) Before you take these courses, though, you must pass your background first. You must also have a high school diploma or GED equivalent.

You will then have to pay the examination fee and sit for the Georgia Real Estate Exam. You must pass this exam with 72% or above. After passing, you must then apply for your license within 12 months.

Georgia Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Hawaii

Hawaii has a requirement of completing 60 hours worth of education for its prospective real estate agents. You can also sit for the exam if you have received a degree from a university in an equivalent program. This will vary by jurisdiction and program, however.

Once your education is complete, you will have to pass the Hawaii Licensing exam. After passing, you can submit your application and find a sponsoring broker. Once you are licensed, you can begin selling real estate at the sponsoring broker.

Hawaii Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Idaho

In Idaho, you must be 18 years or older to begin the process of becoming a real estate agent. If you are, you can then move on to the 90 hours of required licensing courses. After passing the courses, you can then take the licensing exam.

Once you have passed the exam, you must then be fingerprinted and register with the Idaho Real Estate Commission. After passing your background check, you can apply for your license and get Errors and Omissions insurance. Once this is complete, you will be eligible to sell real estate in Idaho.

Idaho Real Estate Commission


Become A Real Estate Agent In Illinois

Illinois has an educational requirement of 75 hours for their new real estate agents. Once you have completed these educational hours at an approved real estate school, you can take the exam. You must pass the exam with a score of 75% or better. (see the top real estate schools in Illinois)

Once you have passed the exam, you must complete your real estate salesperson application. Once you have done this and gone through the background check, you can begin selling real estate.

Illinois Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Indiana

In Indiana, you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent. If you meet these requirements, you can take the required courses for a real estate license. These courses consist of 90 hours of education. Here is my list of the best online Indiana real estate schools.

You will then have to pass the final exam for your courses with a 75% or better. If you do this, you can then take the Indiana Real Estate Examination. If you pass the exam, you can get a sponsoring broker who will help you complete your license application.

Indiana Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Iowa

Iowa’s requirements for new real estate salespersons are similar to other states. You will have to complete 60 hours of a Principles course as well as 12 hours each in other topics. These include Buying Practices, Listing Practices, Ethical Practices and Developing Professionalism. See the best online Iowa real estate schools.

After doing this, you can take the Salesperson Licensing Exam and complete a background check. If everything comes back clear, you can get Errors and Omissions insurance and apply for your state license.

Iowa Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Kansas

If you are 18 years old and have a high school education, you can become a Kansas real estate agent. You will have to complete 60 hours of a pre licensing course, 30 hours of Principles and 30 hours of Practice courses. You can see the list of best online Kansas real estate schools. Once you have done that, you can complete the background check requirement.

You must pass the Kansas Real Estate Exam after completing your educational requirements. Once you have done this, you can find a sponsoring broker to hire you for your first sales. After getting hired, you can complete your real estate license application.

Kansas Real Estate Commission


Kentucky Real Estate License Requirements

Kentucky’s real estate education requirements consist of 96 hours of pre licensing courses. In these courses, you will learn everything you need to know in order to pass the real estate exam. (Here are the best online Kentucky real estate schools.) You will also have to pass the final course exam with a score of 75% or higher.

Once you are done with your education, you can complete the background check requirement. Then, you will take the Kentucky Real Estate Examination and complete your application with the state. Finally, you will have to get Errors and Omissions insurance.

Kentucky Real Estate Commission


Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements

The state of Louisiana requires you to get 90 hours of approved real estate education. You will also have to complete the course’s final exam in order to graduate from your real estate program. See the best online Louisiana real estate schools. After this, you will be fingerprinted by Clearbox, LLC, who will complete your background check.

Once you are cleared of the background check, you will then take the Louisiana Real Estate Examination. This will allow you to complete your application with the state. In Louisiana, you must get Errors and Omissions insurance to protect yourself and your clients from mistakes.

Louisiana Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Maine

Main has slightly fewer required education hours from some of the other states in the U.S. You will have to complete 55 hours of real estate instruction to be eligible for the state exam. Once you pass the exam, you can move on to the next steps.

After completing the Maine real estate exam, you will have to send in your application to the Maine Real Estate Commission. In order to pass their clearance, you have to have a good legal reputation. This means that you should have no monetary-related felonies or criminal charges on your record.

Maine Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements Maryland

Maryland requires you to finish 60 hours of approved licensing education courses. You do not have to complete as many of these courses if you have a degree in real estate from a university. You will have to pass the course final exam with a 70% or higher no matter what, though.

After that, you can then sit for the Maryland Real Estate Salesperson Examination. You must do this within one year of completing your education hours. Once you pass, you can choose a sponsoring broker to work for and finish your application.

Maryland Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, you must be at least 18 years old to get your real estate license. You must also complete 40 hours of coursework on real estate principles from a licensed institution. (First check out the best online real estate schools in Massachusetts.) With your course completion certificate, you can then apply to take the exam.

Once you are cleared, you can take the Massachusetts real estate test. Once you pass this test, you are ready to sell real estate in the state of Massachusetts. You do not need to sign on with a sponsoring broker.

Massachusetts Real Estate Commission


Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

Michigan’s requirements for new agents consist of 40 hours of real estate education. (see the best online Michigan real estate schools to get your education) Once you pass your courses and the course final exam, you must find a sponsoring broker. This is a different order than most other states require.

Once you have found a sponsoring broker, you can start your application to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. You will then be eligible to take the exam. If you pass the exam, you will then receive your real estate license.

Michigan Real Estate Commission


Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements

Minnesota’s education hours are split up over the course of the entire process. You must complete 30 hours of pre licensing education before anything else (see the best online Minnesota real estate schools). Then, you can take the Minnesota real estate exam.

After passing the exam, you will have to find a sponsoring broker to hire you. Once you have done this, you must complete two more separate 30 hour pre licensing courses. After passing those, you can apply for your real estate license.

Minnesota Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Mississippi

In Mississippi, there is a 60 hour education requirement for getting a real estate license. You will have to pass the course’s final exam in order to be eligible for the next steps. After that, you can find a sponsoring broker who is willing to hire you on.

After you find a sponsoring broker, you will apply for your Mississippi real estate license. Once you have been approved, you can sit for the final Mississippi Real Estate Exam. If you pass that, you will receive your real estate license.

Mississippi Real Estate Commission


Missouri Real Estate License Requirements

You must be 18 years of age to be eligible for a real estate license in Missouri. If you are, you can then complete 72 hours of pre licensing education. This will consist of 48 hours of Pre-Licensing and 24 hours of Real Estate Practice.

Once you are finished with your courses, you can take the real estate examination. Upon passing, you will have to complete a background check and fingerprinting. Once you have passed the background check, you will complete your final real estate license application.

Missouri Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Montana

In Montana, you must only have completed 2 years of high school equivalent education. If you have done this, you can then take the 70 hours of pre licensing education. This will give you eligibility to take the licensing exam.

Once you pass the Montana real estate licensing exam, you will have to get employment from a broker. Once that happens, you can complete your application and you will be eligible for a real estate license.

Montana Real Estate Commission


Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements

To be eligible for a real estate license in Nebraska, you must be 19 years old and have a high school diploma. You can also have the equivalent such as a GED or homeschool program certification. Once you have this, you can complete 66 hours of real estate education.

After completing your education, you can apply for your license. You must also complete a criminal background check and fingerprinting. If everything comes back all clear, you must take the licensing exam and earn a 75% or higher.

Nebraska Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Nevada

Nevada’s requirements for real estate licensing include 90 hours of real estate education. There consist of 45 hours of Principles, and 45 hours of Real Estate Law. Once completed, you can get fingerprinted for your background check.

When your background check comes back, you can take the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Licensing exam. If you pass the exam, you are then ready to apply for your license. You do not need to sign on with a sponsoring broker in the state of Nevada.

Nevada Real Estate Commission


New Hampshire Real Estate License Requirements

In New Hampshire, you must get 40 hours of real estate education from an accredited institution. After that, you must apply for eligibility to take the New Hampshire Real Estate Exam. Once you are eligible, you can sit for the exam which must be passed with 70% or higher.

After passing the exam, you must find a broker to sponsor you. They will then help you complete and submit your real estate license application. In New Hampshire, real estate agents must complete 15 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In New Jersey

New Jersey requires 75 hours of education for new real estate agents. Once you have completed these courses, you can register for the state licensing exam. You must then pass the exam once you are eligible and registered to take it.

After passing the exam, you must be fingerprinted and then submit to a background check. This will make you eligible to be hired on at a real estate broker. After getting hired, you can then send in your application for your New Jersey license.

New Jersey Real Estate Commission


New Mexico Real Estate License Requirements

New Mexico real estate agents are called Associate Brokers. In order to get your license to be an Associate Broker, you must complete 90 hours of education. This will make you eligible for the Associate Broker licensing exam.

Once you pass the exam, you must get fingerprinted and get Errors and Omissions insurance. Since you are an Associate Broker, you do not have to sign on with a sponsoring broker. You can immediately apply for your Associate Broker License.

New Mexico Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In New York

In New York state, the order of the process is slightly different than in other states. You must first be 18 years of age with a high school diploma. If you satisfy those requirements, you must take 75 hours of pre licensing courses. There are many schools, these are the top 7 best online real estate schools in New York.

Once you have finished your courses, you must then sign on with a sponsoring broker. Once you have been hired, only then will you be eligible for the New York Real Estate Salesperson Licensing exam. After passing that, you can then apply for your Salesperson license.

New York Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In North Carolina

To be eligible for a real estate license in North Carolina, you must complete 75 hours of pre licensing courses. Here are the best North Carolina real estate schools to get this education. Once you have done that, you will submit your certificate to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.

If the Commission determines you are eligible, you will get a Notice of Examination Eligibility. You can then sign up for the real estate licensing exam. Once you pass the exam, you will pass a background check and be granted your real estate license.

North Carolina Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In North Dakota

There are 90 hours of pre licensing courses required to get a real estate license in North Dakota. If you complete these courses, you will then have to submit your application and fingerprints. This will determine whether or not you can sit for the real estate exam.

Once you are determined to be eligible, you can take the real estate exam. After passing, you must get Errors and Omissions insurance and sign on with a broker. After that, you will be able to apply for your North Dakota Real Estate License.

North Dakota Real Estate Commission


Ohio Real Estate License Requirements

The state of Ohio requires you to get 120 hours of approved real estate courses to be eligible for the exam. You will also have to pass any final exams that the course requires in order to be complete. Then, you will find a broker to sponsor you throughout the rest of the licensing process.

After getting hired on with a broker, you will have to complete your license application. This includes a fingerprinting with the Ohio Division of Real Estate. If that comes back clear, you can sit for the Ohio real estate salesperson exam.

Ohio Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, you need 90 hours of education in real estate Principles and Practices. Once you complete that, you will need to schedule and pass the real estate exam. You must pass this test with a result of 75% or higher.

After passing the exam, you will send in your fingerprints and submit to a background check. If that comes back clear, you will then complete your Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate Application. This application then qualifies you to get hired on with a sponsoring broker.

Oklahoma Real Estate Commission


Oregon Real Estate License Requirements

In the state of Oregon, you are required to take 150 hours of real estate courses. These courses make you eligible to register with the state and get your application moving. You will then have to pass all of the final exams for your pre licensing courses.

After completing your courses, you will have to pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam. This will make you eligible to complete your background check and your fingerprinting. After that, you will have to find a sponsoring broker with which you will be hired on.

Oregon Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Pennsylvania

There is a requirement of 75 hours of pre licensing education for real estate agents in Pennsylvania (see the top online Pennsylvania real estate schools to get educated). You will have to complete and pass all of the exams for these pre licensing courses. Once you do this, you can then take the Pennsylvania real estate salesperson exam.

After taking the exam, you can then get hired on with a sponsoring broker. They will then help you complete your application for your real estate license. After that, you can work in the state of Pennsylvania as a real estate agent.

Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, you will need 45 hours of pre licensing courses for your real estate license. After completion of these, you will then be able to take and pass the real estate exam. After you pass the test, there are some more requirements for you to fulfill.

All potential real estate agents in Rhode Island must provide a statement from a licensed agent attesting to their character. You will also need a reference letter from at least 3 property owners in the state attesting to the same. This will give you eligibility for your Rhode Island real estate license.

Rhode Island Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In South Carolina

The state of South Carolina has a 90 hour education requirement for all new real estate agents. You can view the best South Carolina real estate schools in my guide. After completing your education, you will need to submit to a criminal background check. This will give you eligibility to apply for your license with the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.

If you receive eligibility from the Commission, you can then take the real estate exam. After passing, you will need to find a sponsoring broker who will hire you. Within one year of being hired, you will need to apply for your real estate license.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission


South Dakota Real Estate License Requirements

South Dakota requires you to take 116 hours of approved pre licensing education. These can be taken online or in an in-person classroom type of setting. Once you have completed these courses, you can take and pass the real estate licensing exam.

You will then have to get hired on with a supervising real estate broker. They will help you get the experience you need to be successful and start out on the right foot. Within 60 days of being hired, you will need to send in your application for your license.

South Dakota Real Estate Commission


Steps To Become A Real Estate Agent In Tennessee

In Tennessee, you have to be at least 18 years old to be a real estate license. If you are, you can then complete 60 hours of real estate Principles. (see the top real estate schools in Tennessee) After completing these courses, you can register for the Tennessee Affiliate Broker Licensing exam.

After passing the exam, you will have to take 30 more hours of education courses. These will cover everything you need to know as a new real estate salesperson. After that, you can apply for your Tennessee real estate license.

Tennessee Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Texas

Texas real estate agents must complete 180 hours of approved licensing education courses. (See the best online real estate schools in Texas) Once you have done these courses, you will complete your application and provide your fingerprints to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Then, you will be eligible for the exam.

Once you have completed and passed the Texas Real Estate Salesperson exam, you will need to find a broker. They will help you finish your application. They will also help you get experience in the field of real estate in the market in which you are working.

Texas Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Utah

To get a Utah real estate license, you will have to complete 120 hours of education courses. Make sure to check our guide to the top online Utah real estate schools first. To fully complete these courses, you will need to pass the final exam with a minimum score of 70%. After completing the courses, you are ready to take the Utah real estate sales agent exam.

After passing the sales agent exam, you will then have to complete your real estate license application. These means sending in your fingerprints and paying any required fees. After that, you will be licensed to sell real estate in the state of Utah.

Utah Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In Vermont

Vermont requires 40 hours of real estate education for new agents looking to get their license. You will then need to sign a statement of your eligibility for a real estate license. This means that you have no criminal background or felonies.

After that, you will have to take and pass the Vermont real estate license exam. Upon passing that exam, you will need to be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker in the state. After that, you will be eligible to sell real estate in Vermont.

Vermont Real Estate Commission


How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Virginia

In Virginia, new real estate agents need to complete 60 hours of education. In order for this to be complete, you will need to pass the final exams with at least a 75% score. After that, you will be eligible to take the Virginia real estate salesperson exam.

Should you pass the exam, you will need to send in your fingerprints for a background check. Upon passing, you will then get hired on with a sponsoring broker which will then qualify you for completing your application. You will then send in your complete application for your real estate license.

Virginia Real Estate Commission


Washington Real Estate License Requirements

All new real estate agents in Washington state must complete 90 full hours of real estate education. Once you have completed these education hours, you will need to take and pass the Washington Broker’s exam. This will qualify you to complete the next steps.

After passing the exam, you will have to be fingerprinted and pass a background check. You will then be able to apply for your Washington state real estate license.

Washington Real Estate Commission


Requirements To Get A Real Estate License In Washington DC

In Washington DC, you will need to complete 60 hours of real estate education. This must be from an accredited real estate school in order for it to qualify you. You will then need to pass the DC Real Estate Salesperson exam.

Once you pass the exam, you will then complete your application for licensure. This will go to the DC Real Estate Commission. If everything is in order, you will then be able to sell real estate in Washington DC.

Washington DC Real Estate Commission


Real Estate License Requirements In West Virginia

There are 90 hours of real estate education you must complete in order to become a real estate agent in West Virginia. These consist of courses on Principles and Practice, Law, Finance and Appraisal. These courses will prepare you for your career in West Virginia real estate.

After completing your education courses, you will then be eligible to sit for the real estate exam. You must pass the exam with a score of 75% or higher. Should you pass, you will then be licensed to sell real estate in West Virginia.

West Virginia Real Estate Commission


Wisconsin Real Estate License Requirements

In Wisconsin, you will have to complete 72 total hours of pre licensing real estate courses. This includes passing all of the course final exams on top of taking them. You will then be qualified to take the Wisconsin Real Estate exam.

After passing the Wisconsin Real Estate exam, you will then have to be hired by a sponsoring broker. This will allow you to submit your Wisconsin real estate license application. If everything comes back clear from the Washington Real Estate Commission, you will be licensed.

Wisconsin Real Estate Commission


Wyoming Real Estate License Requirements

In Wyoming, you must complete 53 hours of real estate education. 32 of those hours are mandatory, while 21 are electives that you can choose.

After you have completed your education hours, you will be eligible to take the Wyoming real estate exam. After passing, you can complete your background check and application. Upon completion, you will be qualified to sell real estate in Wyoming.

Wyoming Real Estate Commission


FAQ

Do real estate agents make good money?

Real estate is an industry that will give you what you put into it. If you are dedicated to the business and interested in succeeding, you can make very good money. Most real estate agents work on commission, so your salary is up to how good you are at the job.

What qualifications do you need to be an estate agent?

In most states, you need to be 18 years of age or more and have a high school diploma. You will also have to complete real estate education courses and pass the state real estate exam. In many states, you will need a sponsoring real estate broker to help get you started in the business.

How much does a real estate agent make their first year?

According to a recent survey, most real estate agents make around $15,000 in their first year. Of course, this number will depend on what market you are in and what the economy is like. Some agents make much more than that, while others will most certainly make less.

Is it worth it to become a real estate agent?

If the circumstances are right, it is well worth it to become a real estate agent. For the right personality type, there are many opportunities to be a success. It will depend on your strengths and weaknesses as a real estate agent.

Is real estate a good career in 2021?

Real estate is a booming industry in many areas of the country no matter what the economy is like. People are moving from larger cities into more urban areas and there are opportunities for success there. As long as there are homes to be sold, there are real estate agents to make commissions.

Is being a real estate agent a good side job?

Many people become a real estate agent to work as a side job while they work a full time job. Because the hours can be so flexible, it is possible to do as a side hustle. If you are looking for a good side job, a real estate agent could be a great choice.

Why do realtors quit?

The number one reason why realtors quit is because they aren’t making enough money. Being a success in real estate takes time and patience. It will not happen overnight and some people can not wait long enough to get the hang of the job.

Can being a realtor be a side job?

A realtor is a fantastic side job for someone who has the energy to do it. As a realtor, you will have to meet with clients often and always be on top of your correspondence. If you have a full time job that allows this, it can be a great way to earn extra money.

Can you work from home as a real estate agent?

Many real estate agents have offices in their homes. If you live in a state where you need a sponsoring broker, though, you may not be able to. Of course, you will also have to travel to properties in order to show them to clients.

Who makes more money in real estate?

The people who make the most money in real estate are the people who love houses and dealing with the public. If you are a friendly and personable person, you might be perfect for the job. The better you are with people, the more money you can make in the real estate business.

Is there a difference between a realtor and a real estate agent?

The only difference between a realtor and a real estate agent is that a realtor is a member of the National Association of Realtors. This is a governing body that helps regulate the real estate industry. In the overall span of the job, though, there is no real difference between the two.

Do real estate agents get paid hourly?

For the most part, real estate agents do not get paid hourly. As a real estate agent, you will get paid in commission for each property you sell. However, some brokers pay hourly and can work that out for you if you so desire.